Here is a background image showing the interior of the Statistics Austria building

© Sebastian Philip 2017

Experimental Statistics

Under the label of "experimental statistics", a term established in the European Statistical System (ESS) and also used by other National Statistical Institutes in Europe, Statistics Austria regularly runs projects which offer new possibilities for generating statistics on various topics, by using innovative methods and alternative data sources. Given the progressive digitization, experimental statistics makes it possible to break new ground. Feedback and close interaction with academia are highly welcome! . 

Since the results of experimental statistics differ in maturity and quality from those of established official statistics, they are marked with their own logo, which indicates the provisional nature of the data and possible difficulties in interpreting the results

Innovations & new data sources

Innovations such as the further development of statistical methods and the use of new data sources are important pillars for Statistics Austria to ensure efficient and high-quality data production

Our goal

The aim is - after sufficient testing and ensuring quality - to use "experimental statistics" in official statistics in order to obtain data of higher quality, lower collection costs and less burden for the respondents. Therefore, on this website, “experimental statistics” which have already achieved the status of official statistics are shown as well.

Hier befindet sich ein Hintergrundbild, dass den Innenbereich des Gebäudes der Statistik Austria zeigt

© Sebastian Philip 2017

Experimentelle Statistik

Unter dem Label „Experimentelle Statistik“ veröffentlicht Statistik Austria regelmäßig Projekte, die durch den Einsatz innovativer Methoden und alternativer Datenquellen neue Möglichkeiten der Statistikerstellung zu verschiedene Themen bieten. Im Zuge fortschreitender Digitalisierung beschreitet Statistik Austria damit neue Wege. Dabei sind Feedback und der fundierte Diskurs mit der Wissenschaft herzlich willkommen! Der Begriff „Experimentelle Statistik“ hat sich im Europäischen Statistischen System (ESS) etabliert und wird auch von anderen europäischen Statistikinstituten verwendet.

 

Da sich die Ergebnisse experimenteller Statistiken in Reifegrad und Qualität von jenen etablierter amtlicher Statistiken unterscheiden, werden sie durch ein eigenes Logo gekennzeichnet, das auf die Vorläufigkeit der Daten sowie auf mögliche Schwierigkeiten bei der Interpretation der Ergebnisse hinweist.

Innovationen & neue Datenquellen

Innovationen wie die Weiterentwicklung von statistischen Methoden und die Verwendung neuer Datenquellen stellen für Statistik Austria wichtige Grundlagen für die Sicherung einer effizienten und qualitativ hochwertigen Datenproduktion dar.

Unser Ziel

Ziel der „Experimentellen Statistiken“ ist es, sie nach ausreichender Erprobung und Qualitätssicherung, in die amtliche Statistik überführen zu können und so Daten mit höherer Qualität, geringeren Erhebungskosten sowie geringerem Aufwand für die Respondentinnen und Respondenten zu erreichen. Auf diesen Webseiten werden daher auch „Experimentelle Statistiken“ gezeigt, die bereits den Status der amtlichen Statistik erreicht haben.